Have a leisurely walk through "Posebyen" in Kristiansand, one of Northern Europe's largest collections of charming, old, white wooden houses.
We recommend a city walk via the sophisticated fish market and lively restaurants, further via the Eastern Harbour with the Otterdalsparken Fountain Park - a unique recreational area with granite fountains made by sculpture artist Kjell Nupen. Nearby is the Guest harbour and the Christiansholm Fortress of 1672. Kristiansand has a very popular bathing beach right here in the centre of the town, "Bystranda", with swimming possibilities.
We recommend getting a free city map at Kristiansand tourist information.
The old town in Kristiansand - Posebyen
Kristiansand was founded by King Christian IV of Denmark-Norway in 1641. The centre (1x1 km) has preserved the characteristic square plan in the renaissance style. Have a leisurely walk through “Posebyen”, one of Northern Europe’s largest collections of charming, old, white wooden houses.
The association "Foreningen Posebyen" works actively for the revitalization and preservation of the old town in Kristiansand. This is done through the project PosebyHaven. They want the buildings to be used for general cultural purposes and contain a café, bakery, shop, restaurant and workshops. Read more about Posebyhaven.
Other historic buildings in Posebyen
Bentsens Hus, Kronprinsensgt. 59. Nowadays belongs to Kristiansand municipality. The house was built in 1855 and is one of the best preserved buildings in the town.
Kristiansand nursing Home, Elvegata 39. Although the site has been occupied since 1698, the present building was erected after a fire (Østerbrannen) in 1859. One of Kristiansand’s best known houses.
The former Post office at Kronprinsensgate 45. Dates back to 1695. Has been used for textile dyeing, and as a timber warehouse and a general store.
Sløyden at Gyldenløvesgt 70. Also known as "Thorkilds Bedehus" horkild’s Chapel). Built in 1855 and rebuilt in 1859 by master builder Mikkel Mortensen, who also built the churches in Søgne, Randesund and Birkenes.
Kafé "Blåstua", Gyldenløvesgt. 60 This café with its original décor is famous for its homemade cakes and waffles. The ‘Lige Godt’ charity shop (also run by the Blue Cross) is located in the same building.
The Blue Cross building on Gyldenløvesgate 56. Inhabited since 1802. The house has 16 roomsthree kitchens and a large garden. In 1876, it was bought by a Lieute-nant Colonel renowned for throwing extravagant banquets where he would dress up in full military regalia.
Frivolds hjørne, Holbergsgt 17. This building was named after its last owner, a butcher named Frivold. However, the site was originally part of a larger estate incorporating Holbergsgate 13, 15 and 17 and Rådhusgaten 40b. Holbergsgate 17 is about 200 years old and was used for the sale of wines and spirits in the 1840s, while No.15 housed a carpenter’s and coffin maker’s.
Elin`s Motehus (Fashion House), as well as Hønsegården (the Chicken Run, summer cafe) at Skippergt. 43.